Due to the latest government announcement, the libraries are currently closed. Please visit our eLibrary for some great content you can access from home.
Comprises of local historical records, photographs and memorabilia from Balnarring and surrounding district
Beleura was the Tallis Family Summer House for many decades and from 1950 John Tallis' home; it houses an amazing collection of items.
The museum contains information about the many shipwrecks and stories from the descendants of the early lighthouse keeper families.
Coolart consists of a unique range of historical buildings and environmental landscapes.
Covers the central Mornington Peninsula area including Dromana, Main Ridge, Red Hill, Red Hill South, Safety Beach, Arthurs Seat, McCrae, Rosebud and Boneo
Covers the Flinders, Shoreham, Cape Schanck and Point Leo areas.
Consists of the settlement site and monument, and a small number of relics recovered from the site such as wooden kegs, nails and shackles on display at the Nepean Historical Society.
Contains objects, memorabilia, maps, photographs, illustrations, documents and publications on the history of Hastings and Western Port from prior to white settlement up to the present day.
Contains a diverse collection associated with the history of the naval training depot at HMAS Cerberus and the Royal Australian Navy.
Contains memorabilia and photographs from Mornington, Mount Martha, Mount Eliza and Moorooduc including the Peninsula Post newspaper.
Contains microfiche, microfilm, CD ROMs on a computer network, internet access and printed material to assist people on the peninsula research their family history.
Contains locomotives and rail cars including the K163; K177; K191; T334; T411; 2 track chief shunting vehicles (TC1 and TC2); 85RM Walker Rail Motor.
Consists of memorabilia such as documents; artifacts and photographs that illustrate the colourful past of Mount Martha House
The McCrae Homestead is one of Victoria’s oldest homesteads and is a physical reminder of early pioneering life, using local materials and primitive construction techniques.
Mulberry Hill was built in the late 1920s and was the home of the noted artist Sir Daryl Lindsay and his wife Joan (author of the classic novel, Picnic at Hanging Rock)
The Briars is one of the Mornington Peninsula’s oldest properties. The Homestead contains historic photographs, artefacts and the Napoleonic Collection.
Endeavour Fern Gully is an ecological gem. It is part of a 27 hectare property, of which 17.5 hectares of natural indigenous bushland, including an outstanding example of a lush fern gully.
An impressive collection associated with Southern Mornington Peninsula, and historic Watts Cottage, a rare example of the type of home built by the first settlers to this area.
Books, videos and DVD’s associated with maritime matters. This collection is available to members.
Comprises of quarantine equipment and machinery; medical artefacts; furniture and uniforms; domestic utensils; maps, photographs and assorted records.
Contains photos, family histories, maps, books and memorabilia associated with Rye’s history.
Contains photographs and memorabilia associated with the history of the fruit growing industry and local families in the Somerville and Tyabb District.
Contains microfiche, microfilm, CD ROMs and printed material related to assisting people research their family histories.
Mornington Peninsula Shire Library Service
Our LibraryC/- Mornington Peninsula ShirePrivate Bag 1000, Rosebud 3939DX 30059
Mornington Peninsula Shire acknowledges and pays respect to the Bunurong / BoonWurrung people, the traditional custodians of these lands and waters
Please be aware that CCTV cameras are in operation at a number of Shire buildings, including municipal offices, recreation centres and youth centres.
Mornington LibraryVancouver Street, MorningtonPhone: 5950 1820Opening hours and map
Rosebud LibraryMcDowell Street, RosebudPhone: 5950 1230Opening hours and map
Hastings Library7 High Street, HastingsPhone: 5950 1710 Opening hours and map
Somerville Library1085 Frankston-Flinders Road, SomervillePhone: 5978 0834Opening hours and map
Mobile LibraryPhone: 5950 1713Opening hours, locations and maps